‘Murica Day 1: Downtown, soju, and ice cream

Day 1: October 19

Saturday morning, we went on a sightseeing tour of Downtown San Francisco. These tours always interest me because of the knowledge I get from it. I don’t just see the sights, I learn history. For instance, we came across the building where William Randolph Hearst operated from. That man was one of the biggest forces in the field of journalism (ooh, my Journalism intro courses taking effect).

Another notable information I picked up from the tour was the origin of the term “sugar daddy.” Over at Union Square, there is a statue of a woman high above a pole. Apparently, she was a struggling artist who lived on the streets and can’t make money. One sculptor was looking for a model, and when he saw this woman (named Alma, by the way), he found the model he was looking for. She was young and beautiful, and eventually, men started lining up for her. Since she had a huge lineup of men, she became choosy and only wanted the “experienced” men. One of the men who were in line was an old man, a rich man, who was one of the richest men in America then. I forgot his name, but he was a sugar tycoon. They eventually got married. Alma was 27, the man was 54. He was labeled many names like “cradle snatcher”, but the name that really caught on was, yep, you guessed right, “sugar daddy.”

And that’s where the negative term came from. Interesting, ain’t it?

Anyway, on to other things I learned in Day 1. I experienced how terrible traffic can be in San Francisco. Apparently, the Bay Area Rapid Transit (BART) workers were on strike, therefore the BART trains aren’t functional. Perhaps that was why everyone was driving. There was also a market near Fisherman’s Wharf and the AT&T Center, the home stadium of the San Francisco Giants baseball team. It was bad traffic. Of course, it doesn’t beat EDSA during rush hours. Sucat Road is also worse. But by American standards, and by the mage projected on to us in the Philippines, the traffic we went through was bad.

Come night time, my cousins and my brother and I went to this Korean drinking place where they serve Soju, a Korean alcoholic beverage. It was served in frozen fruit and was consumed by shots. We ordered three flavors: watermelon, pineapple, and strawberry. Word of advice: go for the pineapple and strawberry. The watermelon was bad. But what do you care what flavor you drink when you’re already drunk, anyway?

Right after, we went to this ice cream joint called Mitchell’s. I was a bit nervous when I found out we’d get ice cream. Alcoholic drinks and milk don’t really mix well, don’t they? Ice cream and a 10-degree weather also do not go well together, and that night was indeed close to 10. Mitchell’s was a small parlor with a very big crowd. The line was overflowing, even that late at night (it was around 10:30 to 11). And when I tasted the ice cream, I saw why. They had lots of flavors and the ice cream was really creamy.

Good thing the alcohol and the milk did not cause a war in my stomach.

That afternoon, we went to mass. It was really different from the Philippines. It was the first time I saw women lay ministers. And I don’t mean just a few. All of them. They were about five or six, no men. Feminists would love to have seen that, conservative Catholics might have cringed. I liked it, personally.

But the most amusing thing was the lector. She was not just a lector. Along with the microphone, she had a guitar with her. When she first came up, I thought she was just a singer. I was wrong. She was the singer, the instrumentalist, and the lector. I’ve never seen a lector multitask before! She triple-tasked that afternoon. Amusing.

Leave a Reply

