On Specific Words and Wishes

“Be specific with your words.”

These were words I learned a year ago from my Creative Writing 10 and Journalism 101 classes. And implicitly, they are being reinforced in my Social Science 2 and Journ 102 classes.

Just recently, I learned that even in wishing for things, this applies.

Since 2012 started, I’ve been wishing, wanting, hoping to get an encore. I’ve been waiting for that moment to arrive, something which hasn’t been present since probably December.

January passed, it never came. February passed, it never came.

First day of March arrived, and, finally, my wish was granted.

Exactly when I wasn’t wishing for it anymore.

For weeks, I’ve wished that I would get you alone after a long time of always being around others. I think I’ve told you before that I function best when we’re alone together. Maybe it was something you did your best to avoid — and succeeded in it.

When it came, it was too late. Things changed. I half-jokingly tell you to cut class at that exact time slot in the past, but you always went to class. I always went to class.

Now that you decided to cut, and we had a free cut, when we were finally alone, things weren’t the same anymore. The wish’s effect has been rendered useless. I should’ve wished for alone time when things were still going very well. Sadly, my wish lacked the last seven words of the previous sentence.

“Be specific with your words.”

Be specific with your words in writing. Be specific with your words in speaking.

And just as I recently learned, be specific with your words in your wishes.

2 responses to “On Specific Words and Wishes

Leave a Reply

