Foreshadowed Death

There has been something eerily recurrent during my 2011. Death.

I remember several months ago in June, in this same blog, I wrote an entry about death (http://enzomusikero.livejournal.com/7488.html). I wrote of what death may be like, of how this life we're living, this world we move around in, may be just a dream, and that death may be the reality.

A few weeks before this, my family and I started watching the teleserye 100 Days To Heaven, a show about a businesswoman who died and returned to this world given 100 days to fix broken relationships, to complete unfinished business. Dead woman.

That same June, Papa (my grandfather) suffered a mild stroke. We thought it was just mild. We didn't know it was the start of a two-plus month struggle with cancer. Eventually, this led to his death. May God bless his soul and my he rest in peace.

It was a death Mama hasn't gotten over with. 47 years is hard to move on from. I can't really blame her.

He passed away on August 30. Days after, several more deaths came. My dad received text messages that his officemate has moved on, or his friend's relative kicked the bucket, several of these. It was just a string of losses which could never be regained ever again.

Just recently, I finished reading The Sicilian. It was a story about Turi Guiliano and his dearest friend Aspanu Pisciotta and their quest to conquer Sicily. Spoiler ahead, let me just say. Turi died. He was killed by none other than his best friend Aspanu. It was just a novel, I know, but it was also a death I didn't expect.

I also just read Tuesdays With Morrie. It was a true account by Mitch Albom regarding his experience with his former college professor Morrie Schwartz. Morrie was suffering from a disease called ALS, just like what Stephen Hawking has. Guess what, Morrie died.

Along the way, Amy Winehouse died, Moammar Ghadaffi was killed, Oakland Raiders owner Al Davis, Steve Jobs. Great personalities move on to meet the Greatest Personality, God.

Looking back, that blog entry of mine seemed like a foreshadowing of things to come. But all these events served a greater purpose for me: it taught me that death comes to everyone, at anytime. No one is exempt from it. No one is above it. And no one can stop it.

Leave a Reply

