To The Kingdom, I Come

 When my sembreak officially started, I looked at it as what it is: a BREAK. I went about it like what it’s supposed to be. After all the hours upon hours I spent travelling to and from UP, I decided to just stop, take a break, stay home and not leave the comforts of our house.

And every night during this well-deserved break of mine, I never failed to listen to The Disenchanted Kingdom, 99.5 RT’s PRIMETIME(!) radio show. Seriously. Every night, I would listen to it, even if I don’t get to listen to the entire show.

So I thought, "Since every night of my sembreak was spent tuned in to the DK — which means practically my sembreak has been all about the DK — why not cap off my sembreak by being IN the DK?" Lo and behold, this opportunity presented itself, all thanks to the power of the technology we call Twitter.

I follow one of the Disenchanted Kingdom’s DJs on Twitter. One night, they were playing this game called "Are You Smarter Than A Lasalista?", with the Lasalista referred to being the DJ I follow. He lost big time, and so I tweeted him regarding his defeat. I told him, in a light-hearted fashion, "Nakakahiya ka sa mga Lasalista! HAHAHAHAHA =))". I was shocked when he responded, "Are you telling me you can answer those questions without Google?" to which I asked him if he was challenging me. He gave a positive response and told me to drop by in the station.

BOOM! That’s what I was waiting for! Now I already have a reason to go to the show! Opportunity knocked on the door and I entertained it. In Sky Flakes’ words, kinagat ko.

Going to Paragon Plaza, I was kinda worried that maybe he was just fooling around with me, pinapaasa lang ako. All the time I was really hoping he remembers the challenge. Fortunately, when we got to the station (Keisha and I), King DJ Logan welcomed us, and I immediately introduced myself to Marf as the challenger. "Enzo?" he asked. All right, I thought to myself. He’s expecting me!

I thought I would just be playing the game for all of 5 to 10 minutes. It turned out I would spend about 5-10 minutes on-air once the show started. They were interviewing me. On-air. I cannot believe the day would come when I’d be literally heard by thousands of people. And that was just the beginning of it.

The game proper which I expected to be 5-10 minutes long actually took 25-plus minutes. Midway through, I kind of started shivering, a combination of some nerves getting to me and the cold temperature in the booth. There was even an instance where the rubbing of my hands was heard through the microphone.

In the end, I managed to win the game (even though I failed to answer the difference between an amphibian and a reptile). I scored myself 2 tickets to the advanced screening of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 1 on Monday in the SM Megamall. The DK crew also decided to give Keisha 2 tickets of her own. We haven’t claimed the tickets yet, though.

All in all, this was an experience of a lifetime. Because of this show, I’m now starting to want to become a DJ in the future. And after I visited, I became even more interested in becoming a DJ, or at least trying it out. And to get to speak and be heard by thousands without really seeing them, it felt really good.

This won’t be the last time I’ll be hanging around inside the royal ruckus, The Disenchanted Kingdom. I’ll come back to the castle soon.

Leave a Reply

