A Blog Entry To End The Sem

The semester has ended and I can say I’ve completed one sem in UP! Yeah! Of course there were memorable moments during the first 5 months of classes. Here are 5 of those:

Broken Arm

A few days or weeks old in UP and one PE morning, I saw a horrible sight. I was walking towards the CHK Gym on my way to PE class when, from a far, I saw this girl coming towards my direction. Her face was contorted and she was clutching her right arm close to her; she was obviously in pain. I thought it was just a cramp or a pulled muscle or a bruise or something like that. But then, as she got closer, I saw the arm and the way she was carrying it. She wasn’t moving it. A few more steps, and I was stunned. I saw her hand was in an awkward position, and when I looked at her forearm, it was disfigured. I think I saw a depression in the middle of the forearm. It was, based on what I saw, broken. Ouch. I can’t believe I would actually see one of those freak accidents in person.

I didn’t see what happened, but I think the girl slipped and fell and landed very awkwardly with her arm.

But no matter how horrible, this is still one of the highlights of my first semester.

Shock Me

This was one of those "WTF? Nakakahiya!" moments I had. And I wasn’t even in UP when this happened.

One Wednesday or Friday, I was on EDSA riding a bus. I was supposed to get down at the Ayala MRT station.The bus stopped before Petron (I think that’s Pasay road?) and I went down, thinking it was already the MRT station (I was still a rookie commuter by this time). As I stepped down from the bus and smelled the fragrant aroma of EDSA, from a far I saw this really hot girl wearing short shorts plus a spaghetti strap top. The chick was talking to this Metro Aide girl. Hot Chick had a magnificent figure! By this time I walked a bit faster because I was eager to check out the goods up-close, if you know what I mean.

30 feet. 25. 20. 10. I was getting closer! When I was about 5 feet away, I could already hear their voices. Then Hot Chick spoke and I couldn’t believe my ears. And my eyes.

She’s a GUY! You know that gay intonation/ pitch/  I don’t know what? That was exactly what emanated from him. After I realized who I just checked out, I face-palmed in shame.

Unintentional Walking For Fitness Class

One learning experience I had in UP as a freshie. This happened during the first day of classes.

During the block handling, we were advised to check the CHK Gym first for our PE classes, since most of the time, PE classes meet there for the first class of the sem. I was in the jeep from MRT and went down just as the jeep entered the Academic Oval. I crossed the street to go to Plaridel Hall (CMC) and use the bathroom there since those are the only bathrooms I knew at this time. From there, I turned left at Ylanan then turned left again at Magsaysay to look for the Gym. When I reached the Gym, there weren’t any announcements for Duckpin Bowling (I thought at this time that Duckpin was my PE). So I went to the Alumni Center. During this time I still wasn’t sure if that indeed was the Alumni Center. I kept walking around and around and around Bahay ng Alumni to make sure that I was in the Alumni Center area.

I was sweating like a pig. My class was at 9am and it was only around 7:30 at this time. So I decided to check out the transit time from Alumni Center to AS. I passed through the tennis court area, turned left at the Oval and used the Beta Way to get to AS. I forgot to keep track of the time. So from there, I went back again to the Alumni Center.

Once again, I went back to the Gym to double check the announcements posted. I may have missed the duckpin announcement. None. I made my way back once again to the duckpin place. Finally, I saw some people in the bowling alley, so I joined them and waited. The professor came late, only to find out that we were supposed to meet in the Gym.

That day I walked a lot (obviously!). Unintentionally, I got into a solo Walking For Fitness class.


Mang Larry’s

This happened just recently. I, in my 18 years of existence, have never tried isaw at all. I had no idea what it tasted like. I just got some stories from my cousins that isaw is good, especially in Mang Larry’s.

One day, I was in the best chill library in the campus, the CAL Library, with a good friend of mine, Arielle. She was craving for barbecue. But since Beach House was already closed, we decided to walk to Mang Larry’s. And thank God she brought me there. The moment our orders came, I was filled with excitement just to taste this street food. Once I did, speechless. It was AWESOME. Plus the very, very affordable price of 3 pesos per stick.

It was like tasting heaven for 3 pesos.

UPJC

This is an event in and of itself, simply because this has been a big part of my sem. From the start of the application process right up to the end, I just couldn’t imagine my life right now had I not met or joined this org. There were the requirements for the app process, the thrill and tension before crucial activities, the loads-of-fun Final Rites, and most of all, the new friends and new people I met.

Looking at the people I spend my time with, they are mostly composed of JC people, which is why I’m thinking if I didn’t join this org, I probably would be by my lonesome all day everyday.

Leave a Reply

